KUWAIT: Kuwait Bowling Team players Khalid Al-Dubyyan, Jasem Al-Saqer and Mostafa Al-Mousawi gave Kuwait its first medal in the 25th Asian Tenpin Bowling Championship, as they scored 4280 that gave them second place behind Malaysia’s team Rafiq Ismail, Syafiq Ridhwan and Ahmad Muaz who won gold with the score of 4290, a 10 point difference only ahead of Kuwait.

The other Malaysian trio of Haifz Zainuddin, Timmy Tan and Tun Hakim took third place with the score of 4246.

The Malaysian players continued their outstanding performance as the women’s trio of Esther Cheah, Sin Li Jane and Shalin Zulkifli won gold after scoring 4354 points, while Korea’s team of Kang Suiin, Lee Yeonji and Back Seungia scored 4311 to take to Korea’s second team of Lee Nayoung, Kim Moonjeong and Jung Dawun who scored 4297.

President of International and Asian Bowling Federations, Chairman of Kuwait Bowling Club Sheikh Talal Al-Mohammad lauded the outstanding Kuwait achievement and dedicated it to the political leadership which spares no efforts in support of Kuwait sport by all means.
Al-Mohammad said this championship gave a good opportunity for Kuwaiti players to gain experience that will develop their skills, and hoped for more medals in the coming days.

Sheikh Talal gave all Kuwait players a financial reward for their efforts and to boost their moral forward.
Player Khalid Al-Dubyyan said the gold medal was not far from being grabbed but bad luck did not allow that at the last moment.
He said this win forms a good motive for him and fellow athletes to make another achievement, aiming at gold.

Meanwhile, Jassim Al-Saqer said winning the silver medal in this major championship is the least that players can give to Sheikh Talal Al-Mohammad and promised to exert utmost effort to make up for what they missed earlier.

On his part player Mustafa Al-Musawi said “we gave all efforts to get the gold medal, but bad luck during the last round kept us from making that achievement”. He said he was satisfied with the performance he and his follow players gave.

By Abdellatif Sharaa