By Abdellatif Sharaa

Group picture of the champions Kuwait Stars

KUWAIT: Kuwait Stars ice hockey team defeated Al-Theebs of UAE with the score of 6-4, which declared them champions of the Kuwait Open Championship for Arab Ice Hockey Clubs which was sponsored by Volvo. Al-Theebs was satisfied with the second place. Kuwait Stars were surprised by the strong start of their opponents who scored two quick goals, and the score remained as such until just before the end of the first period, when the Stars scored a goal.

The second period saw both teams perform at the same level and were able to score one goal each, ending the period with the score of 3-2 in favor of Al-Theebs. The third period started with an obvious determination by Kuwait Stars, and gave their best performance in the championship and scored four times while Al-Theebs scored one, Kuwait Stars being declared champions with the score of 6-4.

Meanwhile, Lebanon’s Cedar Club defeated Egypt’s Pharaohs 5-4 to take third place, as the Pharaohs ended in fourth. Bahrain’s Bahrain Club was fifth with its one against Saudi Arabia’s Jeddah 6-1, leaving the Saudis without a win. Public Authority for Sports (PAS) Director General Dr Humoud Fulaiteh Al-Shimmari said the championship was held to coincide with the opening of the new hall of the Kuwait Winter Games Club in Bayan area. He said the championship was successful be it technically, organization and fans attendance.

Fualiteh congratulated the three top teams, who were involved in very strong matches all during the championship. Meanwhile, head of the Kuwait Winter Games Club Fuhaid Al-Ajmi was very happy along with all club members with this win which came after a joint effort by players, administrative and technical departments.

He also pointed to the performance of local players as well as their professional mates who won five consecutive matches. He said the presence of the new facility will have a positive effect on the development of all club’s games. He thanked all committees who worked for the championship.